更多日出山莊訊息

如欲了解更多日出山莊相關訊息,請與日出山莊銷售經理聯繫。
張宏宇 電話:02-2331-1234分機:8843

日出山莊APP下載,請輸入您的帳號及密碼

Bjarke Ingels — BIG Founding Partner / Creative Director. The following interview was conducted in BIG office in Copenhagen to discuss about the design features of Huilanwan Sunrise Village and his unique idea.

In the architectural design, landscape and nature have a strong presence. That true of all your projects?

We are trying to dissolve a dilemma: you have this beautiful landscape, green fields, mountains, the water, and currently a relatively low density if we could actually significantly increase the density to create this new form of living in the landscape without sacrificing the landscape… you have a lot of examples where especially in Asia, southern Europe, where a development has eliminated the original attraction, the landscape. So you end up having it a cluster of big boxes that somehow eliminate what drew people there in the first place. And this is the idea of creating a manmade landscape that is a hybrid, which increases the human density but actually as a refinement or articulation of the landscape rather than an elimination of the landscape.

It’s almost like a skyline that’s more like a mountain range rather than an accumulation of boxy volumes. When you look at Manhattan, it has almost natural beauty, it’s very tempting to start treating idea of a skyline almost as a manmade mountain range.

Secondly, the idea of trying to respond to local climate. The subtropical climate makes anything grow rapidly, so any surface left un-manicured will eventually go green. Then of course the fact that it’s warm, the architecture is trying to passively shade the mostly the prevailing east and west orientations, the lower incoming sun you can screen off, also because so close to the equator the sun literally travels in a vertical arch directly overhead. So toward north and south you have very little incoming sun. The balconies can take care of that. The balconies and the fact that the glass is pushed back, it’s self-shaded. But you can’t self-shade the east and west, which is where we have the grass roofs coming down. So that gives you passive attributes that work… so you can actually enjoy the views without drawing the blinds, or being fried by the sun.

So it has a lot of performance, and then lastly:

In architecture you can’t really afford to do things just for fun—well, you could but that would just be wasting people’s investment, not only the developer but also the clients buying. Of course the green is part of the façade, it’s an aesthetic element that makes it well integrates, and the landscape makes it a beautiful thing to look at.

A lot of the project it’s going to be its own views. Some of the most beautiful views will actually be the views looking at your neighbors, across the ribbons of green, so in essence it makes sense from an aesthetic point of view. From a performance point of view, not just externally but internally we looked at the greening of the roof significantly lowers the temperatures because of the evaporative cooling that comes with having greenery. The use of the balcony in many cases is going to be 5 degrees C cooler on the balcony purely because of the surrounding landscape. If it had been made of mineral or solid surface would have been more like heat storage than cooling.

Since it works on a lot of different levels, the environmental, performance aspects, functional aspects, and aesthetics come together in a synergy.

It looks more complex than what it is. When you see it, it looks like totally freeform, but in fact it’s quite regimented.

I think we always try to achieve the maximum amount of freedom within the maximum amount of discipline. One is dependent on the other. If you are undisciplined, unsystematic, and irrational, you’ve spent all the money before you even started. Whereas if you can actually find ways of achieving the maximum amount of diversity with max amount of repetition… I love the definition of ‘complexity’ that you find in computer coding. It’s very well explained. They say, complexity is the capacity to transmit the maximum amount of information with a minimum amount of data. So the fewer keystrokes you need to achieve the same performance, the more complex it is.

If there’s a string of code this long to make computer do this, and if you can get the computer to do the same thing with less code, even though it’s simpler, it’s also more complex. Complexity, not complication. One is more complicated; one is more complex. So complexity is a form of simplicity. And that also means – this is very important -- the more design intent you can transmit with fewer moves, the better it is: the more experience, freedom, diversity, excitement, surprise, possibility you can deliver with fewer expenses or complications, the better.

There’s poetry in the performance. Could you please talk about social condenser/social path?

The way it’s done, the original masterplan was the idea of creating a valley where the three different mountain ranges come together to create a valley in the middle. The silhouettes—Chinese scroll watercolor of Taiwan.

Taking this graphic style and turning it into an architectural language. The deepest and biggest floor plates on the ground, where you have communal facilities, then because of this seamless undulation, in a very simple way you can provide access to a level above, or even a level above that, so that you can actually create… the topography doesn’t become a podium on the ground and everything else above, the ground becomes a changing undulating condition which means that you’ll have a pool that’s almost on a ridge or slightly higher plateau that you can access through paths, running tracks.

The project will have some of the surprises and diversity you find in nature. The urban condition where the ground floor is public and everything above is private is more challenged, more fluid… which also means the public realm in some cases can capture views over the relatively flat surrounding landscape.

Public spaces on inside… a lot of apt’s will have attic-like feeling with inclined walls, it’s a charming thing. Normally if you have a condo, everything is boxy, shoebox setup. Whereas if you have a chalet, you might actually have a sloping roof. Here you have more of that charm that is normally unavailable for condo lifestyle. It doesn’t usually exist. Maybe 25% to one third have this condition.

Also in some of the lobbies, you have amazing conditions where light creeps between the undulating ribbons and you have big spatial sculptures where you really understand the tectonics of the buildings.

It’s all orchestrated not at the expense of functionality. When you look at the plans it’s like 90 degrees only, things rather straightforward but the skinny ribbons in some of the deeper floor plates allow light to come in on multiple locations, even though you maybe have big living-kitchen-dining space, the ribbons allow light in…

I like this idea of what we call “engineering without engines.” Bernard Rudolfsky MoMA show in 1964 called “Architecture without Architects.” He was looking at vernacular architecture, as he coined the term “non-pedigreed architecture” the idea was there are amazing architectural styles in different places around the world that were neither academic nor esthetic; they evolved out of some tradition. The local population had figured out how to use the local materials and locally available techniques, to respond to the local climate in a way that generated radically different vocabulary. That’s why a Greek village with the white roofs to reflect heat, the flat roof so you can go up and enjoy the cool breeze at night, you have six-story dense cities in Yemen with funny chimneys that capture the prevailing winds and create natural ventilation in a six-story building.

You had architectural languages that were really exciting. Back then, he was mostly on an esthetic mission that the International Style of Modernism had made building look the same everywhere. He was interested in the idea that local specificity was an asset that had been lost.

One of the inventions that made Int’l Style possible—and was its greatest strength and weakness at the same time—was the advent of building services. They are essentially a mechanical compensation for the fact that the building is bad for what it’s designed for: human occupation.

There were all these technological freedoms, that you had electric lights, so you could make really deep floor plates independent of windows. You had mechanical ventilation, making you independent of opening the windows. You had a/c and central heating… in the end the box was just that. The architecture didn’t do anything; it was just a container of space, a boring box, with a basement full of gas-guzzling machinery that made it inhabitable. As a result you got boring architecture with a big energy bill.

What we’re interested in is not some return to ancient vernacular architecture, but let’s call it “Vernacular 2.0” that instead of ‘architecture without architects’ or ‘engineering without engines,’ to use our contemporary capacity to simulate and calculate and model the performance of a building—the thermal studies of grass roof vs. no grass roof. You can actually model the impact of two different solutions. This capacity to anticipate or calculate and model makes it possible to move the attributes of the building away from mechanical compensation and back into the attributes of the design. It’s the geometry, materials, orientation of the architecture that makes it perform. And perform very well.

Hualien is a really good example of ‘engineering without engines’ what makes Hualien look different is also what makes it perform differently. And better.

Green roofs haven’t been done on a scale like this before?

It’s pretty consistent… You might see an entire building that has a big green roof, maybe a conference center. In this case, the fact that it’s a dense vertical project, to find a way to integrate a green roof in such a consistent way, can’t find any other examples.

Could you please talk more about social aspects?

Eight House: the vertical street means… social interaction traditionally limited to street level, here it’s invited to invade the three-dimensional space of the urban block. People on the tenth floor of Eight House have gotten to know their neighbors, and as a result you actually see a local patriotism. They made monthly magazine for neighbors, called The Octopus, they also have a comic strip on the back called The Moebius Strip. And that’s because they’ve gotten to know each other. You pass people every day when you move around, even when it’s cold and nobody is there. Some of more successful social neighborhoods in CPH are tiny, tiny gardens, but everyone loves them because you get to know your neighbors. You’re not going to get into a fight with your neighbor if you know how nice they are. In a typical vertical development either you meet people in the elevator where it’s almost too intimate, or you hear them rumbling around above or in the stairwell. Here [Eight House], you see the nice lady with the baby stroller or the good-looking girl with absence of stroller… all kinds of opportunities to know each other. It won’t just be a stranger from the other street; you really get to see each other. It’s like stoop culture.

Even on high floors, there’s “street” access?

Hualien: facilitating interaction. The work of an architect is you provide the framework for life to unfold. The more possibilities, the more freedom you deliver, the more can spontaneously erupt. We always try to not have too many dictates about… that’s also in Hualien the greenery is going to provide a lot of color and diversity, but after that it’s a pretty sober, practically Scandinavian material palette, pale wood, glass, aluminum, concrete, a very calm material palette where people can provide all the color they want. In summer, Eight House is an explosion of life that you see in front lawns—imagine in Hualien climate.

What do you think the response will be in Taiwan market?

Taiwanese definitely have experience with density. It’s the idea of taking the Taiwanese density and bringing it into a completely new setting where it’s no longer just a vertical stack of units but it provides a lot of arenas where the potential of that density can unfold in social ways. I think you have a culture of amenities, maybe indoor-outdoor aspect is the novelty. It’s not a tower-podium, it’s more a hybrid condition where it’s a gradual transition from living higher up. Some of the units will have terraces that open up to common green area. You’ll have a much greater gradient than the typical development where you either have a or b, down in podium or up in tower. Similar to historic cities or natural landscapes, you have a much greater variety of transition from completely public to completely private, with a few stops in between. It’s something you usually find only in older, established cities. Here we’re making the new neighborhood in the city.

What about Scandiwan style?

Taiwan is already a hybrid condition between Japanese and Chinese culture. And a lot of food culture is influenced by Japan. Danish modern architecture from 50s-70s is very influenced by traditional Japanese architecture. So there’s a propensity toward simplicity, perfection, variation within an established system.

I also like the idea that we shy away from excess ornament but that doesn’t mean the absence of careful detailing; on the contrary. Kyoto: amazing care that goes into anything that makes it delightful.

The idea of Scandi-wanese, taking simple esthetic but also the series is designed for some of the aspects of the house, like shelves that adapt elastically to different angles, a series of attempts to do something that’s informed by propensity toward simplicity that’s also tailored to the nature of the architecture, and place and lifestyle.

What do you want potential buyers to take away from the project or really understand about it?

I think the fact that it creates synergy or harmony with existing landscape, it’s almost like the features of the existing landscape, the green, the views of the mountains, those elements recombine to create an inhabitable landscape—I think that’s a major quality of this project.

All the barely noticeable but very important elements, like the fact that the balconies and the indoor-outdoor living is going to be much more enjoyable because of the evaporative cooling that comes with the green roofs. Everyone knows that cities are like heat islands; this is actually going to be much more like the fresh air of the country, why people escape cities in summer. You’ll actually get that even when you’re home in your condo.

Then the thrill of inhabiting a building that performs intelligently, that doesn’t waste resources, for the money you put into the building you won’t have to pay as much a/c costs, or draw the blinds all the time, a lot of these things… like Scandiwanese tradition, the careful intelligence in all of the things you don’t see, the glare you don’t get, the relentless humming of the a/c that you won’t have—these may be the greatest strengths of living there. The things you do see—it will be like living in a landscape. A lot of the qualities of the project are intuitive.

Do you think BIG’s roots in Copenhagen, a city that takes “green” pretty seriously, and Denmark, known for social housing, makes you uniquely qualified to pull this off?

Now we’ve become the definition of a new kind of Scandinavian approach, but when we started out we were seen as incredibly un-Danish, un-Scandinavian. Now the general understanding of what Scandinavian is has changed. The idea of the social performance of a building and the environmental performance of a building are qualities you naturally nest into your design efforts, without almost reflecting too much on them.

Chairman agrees that these are qualities he’s looking for. He is a big picture person. maybe because of his background in cinema, he has great respect for a story well told, he’s used to running with clear idea and see where it can go. It’s like having a the red thread: The narrative in a structure is the red line tying everything together; different scenes come together to describe an arch—the PLOT.

Same in architecture, an idea that ties different pieces together. It’s more than just a stack of bedrooms and toilets; a lot of architecture is exactly that, just stacks of bed-rooms and toilets.

The art and science of designing a project for someone, I liken to the art of portraiture. The success of a portrait, the beauty is in the artist’s capacity to express him or herself, but more importantly in the artist’s ability to express not only the appearance of the sub-ject but also the character, the personality, the aura, soul if you like, or the potential of the subject, so in that sense Hualien is our best attempt at giving form to what we see as the potential for Hualien and the chairman’s ambitions, our best possible manifestation of the possibilities of Hualien as a place to live or visit. That’s why Hualien doesn’t look like any other project… each and ever situation is a portrait of someone or somewhere. In each and every case, becomes an exploration of the possibilities of a certain situation.

更多日出山莊訊息

如欲了解更多日出山莊相關訊息,請與日出山莊銷售經理聯繫。
張宏宇 電話:02-2331-1234分機:8843

日出山莊APP下載,請輸入您的帳號及密碼

Bjarke Ingels ― BIG的創始合夥人和創意總監。以下的訪問是在哥本哈根的BIG辦公室進行,以討論「洄瀾灣日出山莊」建築設計的特質,以及他關注其中的獨有理念。

在此建築設計中,景觀和自然得到較強的體現。你的所有項目都是這樣的嗎?

我們在嘗試破解一個困局:一個地方環境優美、山明水秀,人口密度相對較低。我們是否可以創造一種新的生活模式,將這個地方的人口密度大幅提高,而不犧牲原有的優美環境...現時有很多例子,特別是在亞洲以及歐洲南部,土地開發令美景消失,原來吸引人的地方也隨之而逝,取而代之的是一堆又一堆的方盒子建築,令這個地方自身的魅力也消失了。因此我們就有了這個意念,希望開創一個糅合自然與人工的景觀,提高人口密度,同時將景觀昇華,加倍展現其美態,而不是令之黯然消逝。

它的天際線更似山脈輪廓,而非重重交疊的方型容器。看著曼哈頓的天際線,你會發現它幾近有一種自然美,令人不禁萌生將天際線當做人造山脈的構想。

第二,這個意念考慮到當地氣候。亞熱帶氣候令萬物生長迅速,所以任何表面只要不加修剪,便會逐漸變綠。還有就是天氣炎熱。在這裡,陽光主要來自東面和西面,我們的建築設計嘗試不著痕跡地將之遮擋,較低處的陽光可以遮擋。此外,由於這裡接近赤道,所以陽光的弧線從東至西移動,垂直經過正上方,從南北兩面照射進來的陽光則非常有限,可以利用陽台解決。因為有了陽台,而且玻璃往內推,本身就有遮蔭效果。可是,東西兩面不能這樣做,所以我們設計了從上而下的屋頂草坪。這些特點能夠不著痕跡地達成設計目的...這樣,你就可以不用靠窗簾遮蔭,亦不用受陽光暴曬之苦,怡然地欣賞美景。

所以,它有多重功用。最後一點:
建築師做事不能只為好玩―如果這麼做,就是浪費了別人的資金,不僅是發展商的資金,還有購買單位客人的資金。綠化的環境當然是外觀的一部份,是美學元素之一,令整體環境融合無間,其輪廓令之優美怡人。

這個項目的焦點是它本身的景觀。其中最美麗的景觀在於:視野穿越多條綠帶,與鄰居遙遙相望,在美學上,這樣十分合理。在功能方面,因為綠色植物有冷卻的作用,所以無論是從內或從外,屋頂的綠化都能大幅降溫。在許多情況下,因為能夠善用周遭環境,所以陽台的運用能將溫度降低五度。如果它以礦石或實體表面建成,則反而會像儲存熱能的容器,而沒有冷卻的功用。因為它在環境、功能、實用和美學等多個範疇上相輔相成,所以在各方面都十分成功。

它看起來比實際上複雜。從外觀望,似乎無跡可尋,事實上卻儼然有序。

我們一直致力在最嚴格的規則之下,達致最廣闊自由的境界。兩者其實互相依賴。假如你沒有規則、雜亂無章而缺乏理性,項目還未開始便將耗盡資金。相反地,你其實可以找到某些途徑,以最多次的重複達到最寬廣多元的效果...我很喜歡電腦程式編寫工作裡面對「complexity」(複雜性)的定義。它的解釋很好。他們說,「complexity」是以最少量數據傳遞最多資訊的能力。換言之,如果一個程式能夠以更少的按鍵來達到相同的效果,就代表它更「complex」(複雜)。

假如有一組程式編碼,能讓電腦完成某個功能,而你卻能以更短的編碼來指揮電腦完成同一動作,那你的編碼雖然比較簡單,卻更加「complex」。我所指的是複雜性,而非複雜化的程度。後者繁複,前者精深。所以,「complexity」也是一種簡約。而那也就是說―這一點非常重要―你需要的動作越少,而能夠傳遞的設計意圖越多,它就越優秀:你需要的開支越低、越不將之複雜化,而為受眾帶來的經驗、自由度、多元性、驚喜及可能性越豐富,它也就越優秀。

功能之下,蘊含詩意。 可以談談社區凝聚作用/社會功能方面嗎?

原來的總體規劃是在三大山脈連接的中心點打造一個山谷。它的輪廓就像台灣的中國水墨卷軸。將這種圖像風格變成建築語言。

最深而面積最大的樓層是地面層,公用設施都在那裡。因為有了這種轉折無縫的起伏,你可以輕易地從地面走上一層,甚至兩層,能夠以此創造...它的地勢不是在地面建一層平台,然後將其他所有東西堆放在上面,而是在地面創造起伏變化的環境,山脊上有水池,有高原,沿通道或跑步徑可達。

這個項目的設計有著大自然的意外元素及多元性。在都市環境內,地面是公用的,其他更高樓層則為私用。我們試圖挑戰這種定律,令之變得更靈活...在某些情況下,因為建築較平緩的起伏,公共空間的行人也能看到建築其他部分的景觀。

內部的公共空間...很多單位會令你有一種身處閣樓的感覺,牆壁可能是傾斜的,別具魅力。通常來說,一間公寓裡面所有東西都是方形的,間隔像個鞋盒。如果是一間小木屋,裡面就可能有傾斜的牆壁。在這裡,你更能感受到一般公寓生活沒有的動人處。這種情況並不常見,但在這裡四分之一到三分之一的公寓都有這種特意傾斜的墻壁。

還有些大堂,陽光會從高低起伏的綠帶間溜進室內,非常迷人,也有大型的空間雕塑,讓你更深了解建築的結構。

一切設計都不容功能上的妥協。看平面圖積,一切轉彎都是直角,簡單而直接,可是在較深的樓層,纖細的綠帶讓光同時從多個位置照射進來,即使你可能有寬敞的客廳/廚房/飯廳空間,這些綠帶也可以讓光線射進來...

我非常喜歡「沒有機械的工程師」這個概念。伯納德·魯道夫斯基1964年在紐約現代藝術博物館的展覽名為「沒有建築師的建築師」。他在觀察風土建築的過程中,創造了「非正統建築」一詞,當中意念是:在世界各地都有一些傑出建築風格,它們並非根據學術或美學基礎,而是基於某些傳統演化而成。當地人想出如何利用當地材料及技術,因應本地氣候來建造房屋,從而衍生出迥然不同的建築語言,所以希臘鄉村的小屋用白色屋頂反射熱力,到了夜晚,更可以走上平坦的屋頂上享受清涼晚風;在人口稠密的也門城市,外表奇怪的煙囪將盛行風導入室內,在六層高的樓宇當中創造自然通風系統。這些建築語言令人振奮。那時候,他以美學為重點,現代歐洲國際建築風格令不同地方的建築物變得相同,本地特色其實可以是一種資產,他對這個概念深感興趣。

一個讓「國際風格」得以成型的發明是屋宇設備工程―這是國際風格最大的優點,也是它最大的缺點。這些建築設計應該以讓人類居住為目的,屋宇設備卻以機械技術來補償建築物在這方面的不足。

在技術方面自由了―有了電燈,你可以建造極深的樓板,而無需考慮窗戶位置及大小。有了機械通風系統,樓宇變得獨立於窗戶的開啟。還有冷氣及中央暖氣...到底,一個箱子還是如此而已。這種建築沒有達到什麼功用;它只是裝納空間的容器,一個沉悶的箱子,地牢裡面充滿耗油的機械,讓它變得不宜居住。結果是建築沉悶呆板,能源開支高漲。

我們關心的,不是如何回到古代的風土建築,但可說是風土建築的「2.0」。不是「沒有機械的工程師」或「沒有建築師的建築師」,而是利用我們的當代知識技術去模擬及計算一棟建築的功能―草坪樓頂的熱力研究,與沒有草坪的樓頂比較。你可以模擬兩個不同解決方案的影響。這種預期、計算及模擬的能力,讓我們可以將建築物的特性與依賴機械補償的部份分開,再回到設計上的特質,利用型態、材質及朝向加強建築的功能,效果更非常出眾。

洄瀾灣是「沒有機械的工程師」的好例子。它外表上與眾不同的地方,也是讓它在功能上脫穎而出、以及更臻完善的地方。

以前沒有建造過這種規模的屋頂草坪吧?

手法相當單一... 你可能看到整棟大樓有一個龐大的屋頂草坪,可能是會議中心。在這情況下,它是一個密集的垂直建築,要尋找一種普遍使用的手法以結合屋頂草坪的設計,找不到任何其他例子。

可以多講一下社交方面的特色嗎?

Eight House:直街(vertical street)的意思…傳統上,社區內的互動只限於街頭。在這裡,我們盡量讓這種互動闖進都市大樓的立體空間。Eight House 裡連十樓的人都與鄰近混熟了,所以你可以看到一種本地性的團結精神。他們為鄰里出版一本叫「The Octopus」的雜誌,封背有連載漫畫,名為「The Moebius Strip」,那是因為他們互相認識。你每天都會經過別人身旁,即使當天氣寒冷而周圍沒什麼人的時候。CPH (哥本哈根)裡面最成功的社區大都位處一些很小很小的花園,可是大家都很喜歡它們,因為你可以認識其他鄰居。如果你知道鄰居們為人有多好,你就不會和他們爭執。在直立的樓宇裡面,你或許在升降機裡面見到其他人這樣有點過於親密,又或是聽到他們在上層或樓梯走動。在這裡,你會碰到友善的女士推著嬰兒車,或是沒有推著嬰兒車的漂亮女生...住客有各種互相認識的機會。你們不會只是鄰街的陌生人;你們會很熟絡。

就像紐約的stoop culture(階梯文化)*

* 註解:紐約市民居正門前通常有幾級樓梯,鄰里都愛聚在那裡閒談

高樓層都能通達「街道」嗎?

洄瀾灣:促進互動。建築師的工作是要提供架構讓生活開展。你提供的可能性越多,自由度越高,自然發展的事物也就越多。我們一直嘗試不要過份主宰...花蓮的綠化自然環境將會提供繽紛的色彩及廣闊的多元性,可是除此之外,這是一個相當沉靜、實際上是北歐式的物材調色板,雅淡的木質、玻璃、鋁合金和水泥,這是一個很安靜的物材組合,讓住在裡面的人自行加添他們喜歡的一切顏彩。夏季時,位處北歐的Eight House的家家戶戶門前草坪色彩綻放―試想像,在花蓮的氣候裡面又會怎樣。

你認為台灣市場反應將是如何?

台灣人對密度肯定不陌生。我們的意念是把台灣的密度帶進全新的環境,在那裡,建築不再只是垂直疊起的一堆單位,而是一個嶄新的平台,讓這種密度的潛質通過社交途徑步步開展。

我覺得你們有社區公共設施的文化,室內/室外的層面則也許比較新鮮。它不是高樓加平台,而是一種混合的狀態,從下至上逐漸改變。有些單位附帶露台,外望是公用的綠化區。典型的建築只能二選其一:地層平台或高樓,在這裡,兩者之間的可能性廣闊得多,屬於漸變式的過渡。完全共用與絕對私人的空間之間多元演變,中間還有幾個「中途站」,這與歷史城市或自然環境都頗為相似。這一點在較舊的、建設完整的城市中相當普遍。在這裡,我們則嘗試在城市裡面製造全新社區。

Scandiwan (斯堪地灣)風格?

台灣的環境本身就糅合了日本及中國文化,在飲食文化方面,日本的影響亦相當普遍。50至70年代期間,丹麥現代建築深受日本建築傳統影響,所以趨向簡約、追求完美,在既定的系統裡面存在變化。

我喜歡剔除多餘裝飾的意念,但不等於缺乏精心設計的細節;剛好相反。在京都,每一處都精心細琢,令一切賞心悅目。Scandiwan的概念...簡單美學...但整體根據房屋各方面而設計。例如能夠根據不同角度彈性適應調整的儲物架子,一連串嘗試,追求簡約,同時切合建築、地點及生活模式本身。

你希望潛在的買家在這個項目當中得到什麼,或是深切明白到什麼?

我想是它與當地山水的和諧糅合,共生共榮。它幾乎就是那裡青山綠水的一部份,這些元素互相結合,成為一個宜居的環境―我想這是本項目的主要特色。

也有其他不易察覺,但極其重要的元素,例如,有了屋頂草坪的降溫作用,陽台及室內外生活空間將會遠為舒適。所有人都知道,城市就像一個熱島;這裡卻更像郊區,空氣清新,那是人們夏天逃離都市的原因。在這裡,即使在公寓之中,你也可以擁有這種環境。

還有就是住在智能建築的快感,節源不浪費,投放資金在房屋身上,冷氣費減少,也不用長期拉上窗簾,很多事物...像我們試圖創造的Scandiwanese(北歐+台灣)的新傳統,所有你看不見的事物背後都有細心策劃的智慧,你看不到刺眼的光,屋裡沒有無休止嗡嗡作響的冷氣—這些可能是住在這裡最好的地方。你看到的―將會令你感覺像居住於山水之間。這個項目的特質很多都符合直覺。

BIG紮根於哥本哈根,該城市非常重視綠化,而丹麥又以社區房屋聞名。你認為這些是令你這個計劃成功的獨有條件嗎?

我們現在確實成為了一種新的北歐風格的代言人,可是剛開始時,我們的風格被視為非常不丹麥、非常不北歐。現在大家對於北歐風格的共識改變了。一棟建築物的社區功能及環保功能是整體設計的必然部份,幾乎不用刻意琢磨。

邱復生先生說這是他要找的特點。他是個從大局出發的人。可能是基於他的電影背景,他非常懂得敘事,習慣以清晰的意念行事,再尋找發展方向。 就像電影中的「紅線」一樣:一個結構的敘述,是貫串一切的紅線;不同場景加起來,組成故事發展―劇情。建築亦如是,一個把不同組件聯繫起來的意念,不只是一疊睡房和浴室;很多建築卻正是如此,僅只是一堆疊起來的睡房和浴室而已。

於我而言,為他人設計項目的藝術與科學,與畫肖像畫頗為相似。一幅肖像畫的成功和動人之處固然在於藝術家的自我表達,但更在於對畫中人的性格、氣質甚至是靈魂或潛質的表現,而不是止於外表。從這樣的角度看來,花蓮這個項目是我們就此地本身潛質以及邱復生先生的視野所作出的最大努力,是我們對花蓮作為居住或遊覽地點的潛力的最佳闡述。這正是花蓮項目與眾不同的原因...每一個情境都是一個人或一個地點的肖像描繪,每每都能對一個情況的潛質作出獨特探索。